SDSB Luminites Association Brings Together Alumni and LUMS Leadership at Reunion 2024

SDSB Luminites Association Brings Together Alumni and LUMS Leadership at Reunion 2024


The LUMS Suleman Dawood School of Business (SDSB) Luminites Association held its annual reunion on February 19, 2024, bringing together alumni, esteemed guests, and the University’s leadership. The event commenced with a lively networking session, setting the stage for an evening of recognition and celebration.

With Mr. Adeel Hashmi taking to the podium as the Master of Ceremony, the reunion kicked off with a welcome note by Mr. Anwar Kabir (MBA 2007), the President of the SDSB Luminites Association. Kabir expressed his gratitude to all present for the 35-year journey of the Association and acknowledged the efforts of change-making alumni, saying, “Each alum has their own story about how their life changed after their experience at LUMS. We are grateful and would like to create an ecosystem where we are all able to pay it forward.” He emphasised the importance of alumni to stay connected with the University and shared various initiatives undertaken by LUMS to enhance global alumni engagement.

The evening then gave way to the highlight of the event, the award ceremony, where accomplished alumni were acknowledged for their milestone achievements. Mr. Muhtashim Ahmad Ashai (MBA 1992), President Soneri Bank Limited, was recognised for receiving the Pride of LUMS Award for his outstanding journey and successes. Later, Mr. Furqan Ahmad Syed (MBA 1995), CCO PepsiCo, expressed gratitude for the values instilled by LUMS, acknowledging the pivotal role of Mr. Abdul Razak Dawood, Pro Chancellor, LUMS, and Mr. Shahid Hussain, Rector, LUMS.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed upon distinguished Professors Emeriti of LUMS including Dr. Ehsan-ul Haque, Dr. Syed Zahoor Hassan, Dr. Jamshed Hassan Khan, and Dr. Anwar Khurshid, and Dr. Tariq Jadoon, Provost, LUMS. Topping the accolades of the night were the Changemakers Awards, presented to Asim Hafeez Qureshi (MBA 1998), Shezeen Hemani (MBA 2004), Saad Tawwab Khan Rao (MBA 2006), Khurram Samad (MBA 2008), Dr. Muhammad Tahir Aziz Mughal (EMBA 2009), Taimoor Ali (MBA 2011), Muhammad Amer Farooq (MBA 2012), Shah Jahan (EMBA 2015), and Faraz Hussain Mirza (EMBA 2021) for making significant contributions to their respective fields.

Concluding the evening were remarks by Dr. Ali Cheema, Vice Chancellor, LUMS, who stressed on the crucial role of alumni to build partnerships in shaping the future of the University. Ms. Nuzhat Kamran, Director, Office of Advancement, LUMS, also reflected on the University's global triumphs this past year and introduced the Alumni Connect portal, as well as thanking alumni around the world for their generous contributions to LUMS. Mr. Dawood thanked the Association and congratulated the award winners, emphasising the implementation of concrete frameworks as the core of success of the University and the evening wrapped up with a group picture, followed by a networking dinner and live tabla music.

Upcoming Events

Get News in Your inbox



We will get back to you shortly.